
Personal Barber licensing exemption: 

Barbers are exempt from licensing by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering if 
licensed by and working in the following counties: 
 

1. Baldwin County 
2. Jefferson County 
3. Lauderdale County 
4. Madison County 
5. Mobile County 

 
If barbers wish to be licensed by the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering in addition 
to the licenses required by these counties, they may do so; however, they are required to 
follow the above county regulations and rules. 
 
 
Effective June 1, 2014, the Legislature added a barber exemption if a barber has been practicing 
as a barber (shaving or trimming the beard or trimming the hair only) for at least 10 years on 
or before August 1, 2013.  In order to request this exemption, barbers must submit to the 
Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering one of the following: 
 

1.  City, County or State of Alabama Revenue license from August 1, 2013 and from 
2003, not all 10 years are required 

2. A notarized affidavit – please call our office at 1-800-815-7453 to obtain this affidavit 
 
Each barber exempt by this new exemption will receive a numbered exemption letter from the 
Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering to post at his/her work station. 
 
 

Shop Licenses for exempt barbers: 
 
Shops with only exempt barbers working will be exempt from obtaining a shop license from the 
Alabama Board of Cosmetology.  This applies throughout all counties.   
 
If a person with a license of any type from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is 
working in a shop, the shop must be licensed by this Board.   
 
 
 
You may view this exemption at:   
http://arc-sos.state.al.us/cgi/actdetail.mbr/detail?page=act&year=2014&act=168&x=50&y=10 
 

http://arc-sos.state.al.us/cgi/actdetail.mbr/detail?page=act&year=2014&act=168&x=50&y=10

